Page Menu menu

The SFAA Elects Board Members

May 29, 2013

 The Surety & Fidelity Association of America elected their 2013-2014 board members and Larry Taylor, President of Merchants Bonding Company, was once again voted to be part of the Executive Committee.


MAY 28, 2013, WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) elected Timothy Mikolajewski, President, Liberty Mutual Surety, as Chair of the Board for 2013-2014. This will be his second year as Chair. Mr. Mikolajewski has been in the surety business since 1984 when he started his career with Safeco where he held various contract surety underwriting and management positions in Ohio, California, and Washington. He was the Chief Bonding Officer for Safeco when Liberty Mutual acquired Safeco.

Stephen Haney was elected as Vice Chair of the Board. Mr. Haney is Division President, Surety, for ACE USA, the retail-focused division of the ACE Group, and Chief Underwriting Officer, Global Surety, the ACE Group. With more than 20 years in the insurance arena, Mr. Haney joined ACE USA in 1998. He previously held various regional underwriting, sales and marketing positions with The Chubb Group, Surety Division, in its Philadelphia office, and with Cologne Re in Germany and Leon Levy & Associates in Philadelphia.

Also elected to the SFAA Executive Committee were Ross Fisher, Vice President & General Manager, The Hartford Construction Group & Bond; Larry Taylor, President, Merchants Bonding Company Group; John S. Welch, President, CNA Surety; and Thomas M. Kunkel, President & CEO, Bond and Financial Products, The Travelers Companies, Past Chair, Ex Officio.

In addition to those companies, SFAA members elected to serve on the Board were: AIG Property Casualty represented by Rosemarie Bonelli, President of Global Surety; Chubb Group of Insurance Companies represented by Rick Ciullo, Chief Operating Officer, Chubb Surety; Great American Insurance Companies represented by Gary Dunbar, President, Bond Division; Hanover Insurance Companies represented by Robert Thomas, President, Hanover Surety; Insco Dico Group represented by Harry Crowell, Chairman; The Main Street America Group represented by Brian Beggs, Vice President – Head of Bonds; Old Republic Surety Group represented by Alan Pavlic, President/Chief Operating Officer; SureTec Insurance Company represented by John Knox, Jr., Chairman and CEO; Westfield Insurance, represented by Dennis Baus, National Surety Leader; W. R. Berkley Corporation Group represented by Andrew Tuma, President, Berkley Surety Group; and Zurich Surety represented by Michael Bond, Executive Vice President & Head of Surety.  Arch Reinsurance Company, represented by William Cameron, Director - Surety, also was elected as the reinsurance representative on the Board.

Lynn M. Schubert was re-elected as SFAA President.

The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) is a trade association of more than 450 insurance companies that write the vast majority of surety and fidelity bonds in the U.S., is a licensed rating or advisory organization in all states, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and is the designated by state insurance departments as a statistical agent for the reporting of surety and fidelity insurance.