Page Menu menu

The SFAA Elected 2015-2016 Board Members

May 8, 2015

The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) recently elected the 2015-2016 Executive Committee of the Board of Directors. Larry Taylor, Chairman of the Board and President of Merchants Bonding Company™, was selected to serve his fourth term on the SFAA Executive Committee.


May 8, 2015, Washington, D.C.— The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) elected ACE Group’s Stephen Haney as Chair of the Board for 2015-2016. Mr. Haney serves as the Division President, Surety, for ACE USA, the retail-focused division of ACE Group, and Chief Underwriting Officer, Global Surety, ACE Group. This will be his second year as Chair. With more than 20 years in the insurance arena, Mr. Haney joined ACE USA in 1998. He previously held various regional underwriting, sales, and marketing positions in insurance and reinsurance in the U.S. and globally.


Ross Fisher was elected as Vice Chair of the Board. Mr. Fisher is senior vice president of large commercial insurance for The Hartford, which includes the company’s national accounts, captive programs and bond business. As one of the largest underwriters of surety and fidelity bonds in the U.S., The Hartford has been writing bonds for more than 100 years and provides surety and fidelity products to companies of all sizes. Mr. Fisher is a 25-year veteran of the surety and insurance industry. He joined The Hartford in 2003 and had previously held various management positions in the industry.


Also elected to the SFAA Executive Committee were Larry Taylor, Chairman of the Board and President, Merchants Bonding Company Group; John S. Welch, President, CNA Surety; and Tim Mikolajewski, President, Liberty Mutual Surety, Immediate Past Chair, Ex Officio.


In addition to those companies, SFAA members elected to serve on the Board were: AIG Property Casualty represented by Michael C. Fay, Senior Vice President and Divisional Executive-Americas, Surety; AmTrust Surety represented by Harry Crowell, Chairman; Chubb Group of Insurance Companies represented by Rick Ciullo, Chief Operating Officer, Chubb Surety; Great American Insurance Group represented by Gary Dunbar, Divisional President, Bond Division; The Hanover Insurance Group represented by Robert Thomas, President, Hanover Surety; The Main Street America Group represented by Brian Beggs, Vice President/Head of Bonds; Old Republic Surety Company represented by Alan Pavlic, President and Chief Operating Officer; SureTec Insurance Company represented by John Knox, Jr., Chairman, President, and CEO; The Travelers Companies, Inc., represented by Thomas M. Kunkel, President, Bond and Specialty Insurance; Westfield Insurance Group, represented by Dennis Baus, National Surety Leader and Senior Executive; W. R. Berkley Insurance Group represented by Andrew Tuma, President, Berkley Surety Group; and Zurich Group represented by Michael Bond, Executive Vice President - Head of Surety. Axis Reinsurance Company, represented by Jeffrey Ryan, Senior Vice President, also was elected as the reinsurance representative on the Board.          


Lynn M. Schubert was re-elected as SFAA President.