Page Menu menu

The SFAA Elects 2014-2015 Board Members

May 27, 2014

The Surety & Fidelity Association of America elected their 2014-2015 board members and Larry Taylor, Chairman of the Board and President of Merchants Bonding Company,  was once again voted to be part of the Executive Committee.


MAY 27, 2014, WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) elected ACE Group’s Stephen Haney as Chair of the Board for 2014-2015. This will be his first year as Chair. Mr. Haney serves as the Division President, ACE USA Surety, the retail-focused division of ACE Group and also is Chief Underwriting Officer, Global Surety, ACE Group. With more than 20 years in the insurance arena, Mr. Haney joined ACE USA in 1998 and has extensive experience in regional underwriting, sales and marketing in insurance and reinsurance in the U.S. and globally.


Ross Fisher was elected as Vice Chair of the Board. Mr. Fisher is Vice President and General Manager of The Hartford’s Bond business, which is one of the largest underwriters of surety and fidelity bonds in the U.S. The Hartford has been writing bonds for more than 100 years, providing surety and fidelity products to companies of all sizes. A 25-year veteran of the surety and insurance industry, Mr. Fisher joined The Hartford in 2003 and had previously held various management positions with Reliance and Travelers Bond.           


Also elected to the SFAA Executive Committee were Larry Taylor, Chairman of the Board and President, Merchants Bonding Company Group; John S. Welch, President, CNA Surety; and Tim Mikolajewski, President, Liberty Mutual Surety, Immediate Past Chair, Ex Officio.           


In addition to those companies, SFAA members elected to serve on the Board were: AIG Property Casualty represented by Rosemarie Bonelli, President, Global Specialty Lines--Surety; Chubb Group of Insurance Companies represented by Rick Ciullo, Chief Operating Officer, Chubb Surety; Great American Insurance Companies represented by Gary T Dunbar, President, Bond Division; The Hanover Insurance Group represented by Robert Thomas, President, Hanover Surety; Insco Dico Group represented by Harry Crowell, Chairman; The Main Street America Group represented by Brian Beggs, Vice President/ Head of Bonds; Old Republic Surety Group represented by Alan Pavlic, President and Chief Operating Officer; SureTec Insurance Company represented by John Knox, Jr., Chairman and CEO; The Travelers Companies, Inc., represented by Thomas M. Kunkel, President and CEO, Bond and Financial Products; Westfield Insurance Group, represented by Dennis Baus, National Surety Leader; W. R. Berkley Corporation Group represented by Andrew Tuma, President, Berkley Surety Group; and Zurich Surety represented by Michael Bond, Executive Vice President - Head of Surety.  Arch Reinsurance Company, represented by William Cameron, Managing Director, Surety, also was elected as the reinsurance representative on the Board.           


Lynn M. Schubert was re-elected as SFAA President.


The Surety & Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) is a trade association of more than 450 insurance companies that write the vast majority of surety and fidelity bonds in the U.S., is a licensed rating or advisory organization in all states, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and is the designated by state insurance departments as a statistical agent for the reporting of surety and fidelity insurance.